Tendring Local School Board

  • Mrs C Adams (Chair)
  • Mr M Carter-Tufnell (Headteacher)
  • Mrs B Gouge (Safeguarding and Child Protection)
  • Mrs G Smith
  • Mrs N Bennett
  • Mr A Jones (Health and Safety)
  • Mrs K Wallace
Full NamePosition
Term of Office start date and appointed by
Nature of Business and Pecuniary Interest or
Personal Relationship
Enhanced DBS
Mrs C AdamsChair of Board8th June 2016
(1st January 2020 as chair)
Appointed by foundation/Trust
Mr M Carter-TufnellHeadteacher at St Osyth C of E Primary School and Mistley Norman C of E Primary SchoolBy virtue of officeMayflower – First aid training – Owned by familyYes
Mrs B GougeParent Governor
Safeguarding and Child Protection Governor
4th July 2016 – Appointed by GB/board
1st September 2020 – Appointed by Foundation/Trust
Children attended St OsythYes
Mrs G SmithHeadteacher at St Margaret’s C of E Primary School1st September 2020 Appointed by TrustNoneYes
Mrs N BennettHeadteacher at Two Village C of E Primary School1st January 2021 Appointed by TrustNoneYes
Mr A JonesHealth and Safety Governor21st May 2019
Appointed by foundation/Trust
Teacher at Tendring Technical College
Wife is the Headteacher of another school in the trust.
Mrs K WallaceGovernor1st April 2020 – Appointed by Foundation/TrustNoneYes
Rev Sharon MilesGovernor
Church school / SIAMS
4th July 2016
Appointed by GB/board
Mrs L LevettDeputy HeadteacherAttends meetingsDeputy Headteacher at St OsythYes
Mrs H Foster-BryonBusiness ManagerAttends meetingBusiness Manager at St OsythYes
Mrs D ReedGovernor (resigned March 2019)4th July 2016NoneYes
Mrs A HendryStaff Governor (resigned 22nd April 2019)9th February 2018Family electrical business, that supplies goods to the school.Yes
Mrs K JonesHeadteacher (resigned 22nd April 2019)N/ANoneYes
Miss C EsparonStaff Governor (resigned June 2019)23rd May 2019NoneYes
Mr D AshleyHeadteacher (resigned September 2019)N/ANoneYes
Mr N KrickaStaff Governor (resigned 8th November 2019)Member of the round table – plus friendsYes
Mrs C EpsomChair of Governors (resigned 31st December 2019)1st September 2017Son employed at Brakes Catering (London)Yes
Rev Dom TurnerGovernor (resigned January 2020)1st September 2017NoneYes
Mrs F ReidEx-Offico- Headteacher (resigned January 2020)N/ANoneYes
Mr K FisherParent Governor (resigned 10th July 2020)23rd January 2018
Appointed by GB/board
Children attend Mistley NormanYes
Mrs K KingMAT Appointed (resigned 10th July 2020)14th January 2020
Appointed by foundation/Trust
Mrs D StevensBusiness Manager (resigned 31st August 2020)Attends meetingsSon works for Electrical SolutionsYes
Miss M GildersleevesStaff Governor (resigned 31st August 2020)1st October 2019
Appointed by foundation/Trust
Teacher at St OsythYes

St Osyth’s Church of England Primary school is an Academy that is a member of the Vine Trust. The Vine trust was set up by the diocese and is a multi-academy Church of England Trust. Each school within the Trust has a Local Governing Body (LGB).

The Diocese of Chelmsford Vine Schools Trust

The ultimate accountability for St Osyth Church of England Primary School lies with the Board of the Trust.  Through the scheme of delegation most of the responsibilities are delegated to a Local Hub Board appointed by the Trust.

Click here for details of the Vine Schools Trust Board

St Osyth Church of England Primary School is working in a close collaboration with Mistley Norman Church of England Primary School. From September 2018,  the local governance for these two academies is delegated by the Vine Trust to the Local Hub Board.

The purpose of the LGB is to support and challenge the head teacher and his colleagues within the school to provide an excellent education for all pupils, regardless of their background and abilities. As a church school it is vital that this excellence is achieved through a Christian ethos that helps children of all faiths to develop their spirituality. The governors will work with the staff, parents and pupils to develop this ethos so that it is part of the everyday life of the school.

The LGB is made up of parents, staff and co-opted members of the community. All members have to be approved by the Trust and the chair is appointed by the Trust. The governing body meets every half term in the early evening for approximately two hours. The head teacher and staff bring reports to the LGB of progress of the pupils, budget, premises and buildings, personnel matters and other aspects of school life. The LGB scrutinises these reports and verifies them through visits to the school. Policies are discussed and recommendations given for improvement.

All governors volunteer their services and all have to undergo a DBS check.

If you wish to contact the governors about any aspect of school life, please hand in a note to the school office addressed to the Chair of Governors and it will be forwarded to The Chair at the earliest opportunity. Alternatively Our Chair can be emailed via If you have skills that would be helpful to make the governing body more effective similarly, leave a note for The Chair.